[SOLVED] What is full form of ASEAN ?

What is full form of ASEAN ?
What is full form of ASEAN ?


The best answer for What is full form of ASEAN ? 

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a geo-political and economic organization of ten countries located in Southeast Asia. The countries include Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
ASEAN’s main objective has been to encourage intergovernmental cooperation along with promoting political,economic,educational and socio cultural integration among all its member countries along with other Asian countries. The organisation was established on 8th August 1967 in Bangkok by five Southeast Asian nations: Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines amid the intense atmosphere of the Cold War and therefore it aimed at gaining stability in the region.

The list of ASEAN countries was further extended in the year 1984 with Brunei as the sixth member followed by Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar (Burma) in 1997 and lastly Cambodia joined in 1999 which was a delayed entry due to the country’s internal political scuffle.

ASEAN is a combination of many Southeast Asian countries which works on the principle of interpersonal growth and cooperation within the region and promote development. Thus the main motto of ASEAN is – “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”

The official ASEAN Anthem is – “The ASEAN Way”.

Currently the secretary-general of ASEAN is H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi (2018-2022) from Brunei Darussalam. The secretary general of ASEAN is appointed by the ASEAN Summit for a five year term.

The correct answer for What is full form of ASEAN ?

ASEAN full form is Association of Southeast Asian Nations. It is an association of 10 Southeast Asian countries established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok. It was established by its five founding member states: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

It was established to promote political and economic cooperation and regional stability among the member states. Over the years, its membership has expanded to include five more countries: Brunei, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam. So, at present, it has ten member countries.

ASEAN’s motto is One Vision, One Identity and One Community. As per the Article 31 of the ASEAN Charter, the ASEAN’s chairmanship rotates annually in alphabetical order of the English names of the Member States.

The Ist ASEAN Summit was hosted by Bali, Indonesia in the year 1976 followed by the second one hosted by Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1977 which was the first meeting between Japan and ASEAN and that was the occasion where Japan expressed its interest in cooperating with ASEAN.

The recent 32nd ASEAN Summit was hosted by Singapore on 28th April 2018.

Leave a Comment